Chapman Still Refuses Help

As much as I prefer to be positive on my blog, today kind of sucks. Fever/cold/headache all day, bleh. On top of all that, I’m even more stressed out about finances for this school year.

Financial aid was as useless as ever. My parents didn’t qualify for extra loans so I’m back at square one. I got a hold of the financial aid office (after calling for two hours, again) but they basically said there’s nothing they can do, which pisses me off to no end. Really? You can’t pull an extra couple thousand dollars from your multi-million dollar fund to help out some students in need?

There’s not really too much hope for me this semester, but I guess we’ll see. I’ve got to keep my options open – transferring, breaking into the industry now and abandoning school, taking a semester off, etc. Hopefully something will come through so that I can stay at Chapman. I’ve only got two years left and I really do enjoy going to school there. I just don’t enjoy all the bullshit that comes along with it.

As a last ditch effort, I might call up the OC register and see if they’d want to write a story about it. There’s nothing Chapman hates more than getting their reputation smudged. I got their attention faster by slandering them on Twitter than I did with emails/phone calls/messages to the office.

I want to finish college, damnit!

Kiley ❤

About Kiley Elizabeth

I'm Kiley, and I'm currently a 3rd year film student at Chapman University. The three loves of my life are being with people, competitive cheerleading, and making movies. This is my personal blog to let you behind the scenes of my crazy life.

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Amalgamation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Elizabeth,

    I’m sorry you are having trouble reaching your financial aid representative. Based on the information provided by you in your blog I believe I was able to locate your file and get some more information. I would be more than happy to call you for a further discussion. Thanks,

    Jack Millis
    Director of Financial Aid
    Chapman University

    • Kiley Elizabeth

      Hi Jack,

      I appreciate that you replied to this post. Thankfully I managed to get outside help at the last minute and I will be attending Chapman this semester. I hope in the future you can work with the Financial Aid department to be more accommodating. I was denied any extra help even after I told the representative I would have to withdraw from the school if I could not be offered any more aid. I know I am definitely not alone in my frustration with the department. There are many students who are struggling just to get in contact with Financial Aid. All we want to do is get a good education without having to jump through endless hoops.

      – Kiley T.

  2. Kiley,

    I have to tell you……………….Go to Jack he is amazing, I am a Veteran who couldn’t get any help from the VA there at Chapman…..well I did get help from the VA at Brandman but when it switched to Chapman I couldn’t get help. Jack was amazing…….he returned my calls, followed through and didn’t make promises he couldn’t keep and went above and beyond. I do not have a stake in this blog……I am a single mom ……..older returning student, Iraq Veteran and just so you know he is the Director of Financial Aid he really helps…..

    Lara

Leave a Reply

