Harry Potter 7 Part 2 Review – The End of an Era

Yesterday I finally made my first summer trip to the movie theater to see the last Harry Potter movie. Like many people, I had that same bittersweet feeling of “ZOMG it’s so good” and “holy crap it’s all over.” I’m definitely gonna miss waiting in line for the next book/movie. I grew up with the series, just like the rest of us who followed along, and it was certainly a MAGICAL journey.

As far as the movie goes – I got what I came for. I could go all film student-y on it, but I’m not going to because I love the series too much. I’ve gotta say, the magic fight scenes were BADASS. I don’t really know what was different from the book, but I also really don’t care. People that whine about movies being different from their paper-and-ink counterparts need to get over it. Movies and books are two entirely different artistic mediums, obviously they’re not going to be the same.

As always, it was shot really well. It’s amazing to see the transition from the first time we see Hogwarts all bright and happy to this movie where everything is grey and bleak. Despite the dragging along at the beginning, most of the movie was packed with the epic fight scenes we were all waiting to see.

Also – I think I hate the epilogue more in the movie. I seriously wanted to rip those 7 pages out of the book when I read them. I was cringing the entire five minutes the epilogue was playing. I sense a bad spin off in the near future. But who knows, J.K. Rowling is quite talented, as long as she doesn’t let it get to her head. I’d hate to see her become the next Stephanie Meyer.

Mischief Managed!

Kiley ❤

About Kiley Elizabeth

I'm Kiley, and I'm currently a 3rd year film student at Chapman University. The three loves of my life are being with people, competitive cheerleading, and making movies. This is my personal blog to let you behind the scenes of my crazy life.

Posted on July 18, 2011, in Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I simply will have received your websites once more i absolutely eat presumably have you been discovering bear in mind until this on sensible. Then you certainly build a a good number of helpful suggestions after i absolutely benefit from purchase our on the net to add. Take the important incredible discipline!

Leave a Reply

