Netflix changes are a bad move for the company

If you have Netflix, then you’ve probably heard about the latest upcoming price changes. A lot of people are downright angry and are threatening to cancel their service. Personally, I’m just disappointed.

Most of my viewing comes from the stream anyways. I can literally watch it anywhere – computer, TV, phone (which works surprisingly well). Netflix has great quality and I can easily pick up from where I started, no matter what device I’m using. The only problem Netflix streaming has is selection.

When the prices changed a few months ago – $7 for streaming only at $9 for streaming + DVD, if I’m not mistaken – I opted for the choice with the DVDs. I love Netflix streaming, but there’s a lot of great movies that aren’t on the stream. For some reason though, I find it much more difficult to sit down and watch a DVD. I think it’s the “pressure” to watch it. DVDs are delivered through snail mail and despite how quickly the turnaround is, I feel pressured into watching a DVD the day I get it because I want the next one ASAP. Usually I end up setting the DVD aside and forgetting about it, sometimes for months even.

Needless to say, I’m not devastated by this change to service, but it sucks nonetheless. I honestly have no idea who would pay $7 a month to only have ONE single DVD out at a time. Even if you watched every DVD the very day you got it, you still would have to wait a few days in between for turnaround and you won’t get nearly as much use out of it as the stream. Honestly, I think this move is bad for the company. However, I am saying that without knowing how much it costs to run the DVD service alone, but still. This change is just making people upset, which may lead to lots of cancellations.

I still love Netflix, so there’s no way I’m going to cancel, but I am going to miss all the movies in my DVD queue that I will no longer be able to see because they are not online. Although, I do think it would be a smart move to move everything to stream and do away with DVDs all together, but that’s just me. I’ll take a stream over hard copies any day.

 

Lots of DVD watching to do by September,

Kiley ❤

About Kiley Elizabeth

I'm Kiley, and I'm currently a 3rd year film student at Chapman University. The three loves of my life are being with people, competitive cheerleading, and making movies. This is my personal blog to let you behind the scenes of my crazy life.

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great piece of facts that you’ve obtained on this web site publish. Hope I will get some much more of the stuff in your weblog. I will appear again.

Leave a Reply

