Invention of Lying Review

I finally got around to watching Invention of Lying. I have a terrible habit of getting Netflix DVDs and letting them sit around for weeks before watching them, but anyways!

Invention of Lying is definitely one of those heavily concept-based movies. It’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like – it’s a satirical movie depicting what the world would be like if no one could lie. It was definitely interesting – you quickly realize how much of the time we don’t tell the truth.

This is a British movie, so if you don’t enjoy British humor, you won’t like it at all. It’s a bit slow paced and definitely drags near the end, but it’s just a different style of film-making. The directing/acting bothered me a bit, but I know it’s just because the film was creating a world without subtext, which is pretty bland IMO.

I enjoyed it though, definitely got a good laugh out of it. The film kind of wanders and you never really know where it’s going, so it keeps you on your toes even through the more dull parts.

Overall, I think I’d give it a 3/5. I liked it, definitely didn’t love it though. But if you’ve got a knack for British films, I’d definitely add this to your list of movies to see!

 

everyone secretly loves subtext,

Kiley ❤

About Kiley Elizabeth

I'm Kiley, and I'm currently a 3rd year film student at Chapman University. The three loves of my life are being with people, competitive cheerleading, and making movies. This is my personal blog to let you behind the scenes of my crazy life.

Posted on June 27, 2011, in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. J’aime vraiment votre article. J’ai essaye de trouver de nombreux en ligne et trouver le v?tre pour être la meilleure de toutes.

    Mon francais n’est pas tres bon, je suis de l’Allemagne.

    Mon blog:
    courtier en credit aussi rachat de credit immo

Leave a Reply

