Smile! It’s contagious

I was really down this morning. As I pulled myself out of bed and groggily drove the 50 mile stretch to work, my mind was bogged down with negativity. The only things I could think of were things clouding my happiness, none of which are particularly major, but even small dark clouds can ruin a sunny day. One thing inexplicably changed all of that.

A smile.

Who knew such a drastic change could come from something so mundane. I was driving through McDonald’s to get my daily coffee on my lunch break – which I ended up spilling all over my kitchen floor, I guess it just wasn’t meant to be. But anyways, as I went through the drive-thru, the guy who handed me my drink gave me a bright, genuine smile. You could see it in the spark of his eyes and hear it in the chime of his voice – he was legitimately very happy.

Maybe it’s just that it’s hard to resist being happy yourself after seeing someone so cheerful. Maybe it’s just seeing a friendly face that remotely cares about you after being alone with your bad thoughts all day. Or maybe there’s something about a happiness so pure and real that just the slightest touch of it can bring out the happiness in you.

It’s mysterious, it’s magical, and that’s why I love people. Do yourself and everyone you meet a favor today – smile!

 

=]

Kiley ❤

About Kiley Elizabeth

I'm Kiley, and I'm currently a 3rd year film student at Chapman University. The three loves of my life are being with people, competitive cheerleading, and making movies. This is my personal blog to let you behind the scenes of my crazy life.

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

