Friends With Benefits Review – Comedy of the Summer

Usually I wait for comedies to go to DVD before I see them because you don’t get a whole lot out of it on the big screen. However, Friends with Benefits looked absolutely hilarious, not to mention the two amazing leads – Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake.

Let me get the obvious statement out of the way – Mila Kunis is, in the words of Toby Turner, hototototototototototot. If that isn’t reason enough to see this movie, I’ve got plenty more.

I really adored this movie. I had a smile on my face the entire time. The characters were interesting, relatable, and most of all, fun! I really think Justin and Mila had great chemistry. They played very well off of each other and it just worked. Excellent choice of actors – directing is 90% casting!

Yes this movie is technically a romantic comedy, but it’s great because it’s a bit different. It has much fewer over-the-top cheesy moments, and there’s a lot of self-referential humor. The marketers did a great job at snagging the male audience too – a romantic comedy that has less girly qualities and a whole lot of sex.

The writers did an excellent job. There were so many laugh-out-loud funny moments in places you wouldn’t expect them. Witty, dialogue-based humor is my personal favorite. Sadly, I feel like there aren’t enough of those in American cinema. However, this movie was a great comedy. Definitely not a forgettable kind of movie like so many other comedies these days.

Friends with Benefits is a great date movie. It’s light-hearted, cute, fun, and has plenty of “awwwwwww” moments. And of course, two stunning (in every way :P) lead talents. I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a good laugh the next time you hit the theaters.

 

Have fun!

Kiley <3

About Kiley Elizabeth

I'm Kiley, and I'm currently a 3rd year film student at Chapman University. The three loves of my life are being with people, competitive cheerleading, and making movies. This is my personal blog to let you behind the scenes of my crazy life.

Posted on August 4, 2011, in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. If I had the capability to time travel (and who’s to say I do not, since I’d in no way tell you if I did) and felt inclined to display a movie to the citizens of the ’20s or ’30s that may fully seize for them life in the 21st Century mostly because I wouldn’t be able to take them there myself, I believe I’d decide on “Friends with Benefits.” For 1, it is predictable romance – that much hasn’t changed in 80-90 many years. For one more, the presence of technology is rampant, which might awe them though also proving one more thing that hasn’t changed in 80-90 years: item placement. In all sincerity, nevertheless, Will Gluck (“Easy A”) has created however another comedy that is savvy to its audience, and although the modern attitudes, humor and references arrive heavy-handed at instances, he captures our sensibilities and can identify the expertise which will make that composing work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

